top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness”

"No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without any specific cause. At less morbid levels it is a dull ache of the soul, a longing with nothing to long for, a sick pining, a vague restlessness, mental throes, yearning. In particular cases it may be the desire for somebody of something specific, nostalgia, love-sickness. At the lowest level it grades into ennui, boredom.” – Vladimir Nabokov

 

On days where the sunrise feels like a knife wound

I embrace the darkness curling from the shadowy corners of my mind

coiling around my heart

becoming a serpent’s chokehold around my desire to live

 

On the nights where the moonlight feels like sea water against open, bleeding wounds

I hold my opened veins over the running water and watch it churn

red, red, redder

so there’s proof the world stole it, kept it, swallowed it

 

Not every day is like this

There are days where I breathe and there’s no pang in my chest

like an arrow through my heart

Cupid can’t always be a deadeye

 

And there are moments

stolen heartbeats

when all I am is a whisper away from splitting at the seams

Forget the consuming, terrible sense of coming undone in pieces

 

Sometimes the unraveling is as simple as exhaling

and becoming ash

 

Imagine the pain volcanoes must carry to always be on the brink of breaking

What is this pain, this unendurable agony?

Why does the whole world carry it

the way Atlas carries the heavens?

Like we’re saving the world from crushing

but we’re being crushed anyway

 

I know pain like the back of my hand

I’ve held it close to my chest since I can remember

The embrace of sadness is dearest to me

and I can feel its hooks in my skeleton

claiming its pound of flesh through my heart

 

Misery is hungry, devouring—

a black hole stealing all the light

 

Yes, I embrace the darkness

It’s the only way I know how to survive

 

If I lean into the pain

it’s an embrace and not a death grip

 

Isn’t it?

Isn’t it?

Isn’t it?


At least it is familiar

At least I know the steps in this dance


At least I know I will always have it

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page