top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

Origin//Oblivion, or: Liminal

“Origin”

To rise.


Everything has risen

from stars, dust, hope.


That man on the street,

crashing to his knees

with his bottle and his scarred

knuckles,


he’s risen

from the same

place as that woman on her knees,

with her rosary and her tears.


One in the alley.

One in a church.


From the same ashes

of the same falling star

as me.


“Oblivion”

Forget.


Everything has risen—

everything will fall.


Someday there will be no

man in the alley,

or woman in a church


There won’t be

even a memory.


They’ll be smoke

dissipating in the wind.


Forgotten.


And someday I’ll be gone, too.

Gone.

Returned to hope. Dust.

And the stars.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page