top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron

is a sign of good luck

 

As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness

through a lifetime of practice

As if her entire existence is not a choice

between an impatient lunge of blind hope

and the deliberate strike to ensure her survival

 

The great blue heron, master of herself

Nothing about the heron is lucky

 

It is a choice

 

If I could speak to birds as a girl,

I would have picked this one to run to first

I would have thrown myself into the water

and begged her for answers

I would have told her:

 

Give me your courage

your unwavering legs

spindles that keep you upright like roots guiding a tree

 

Give me your wings that slice the sky in two

and let you soar so far away from here

Give me your fearless flight

 

Give me your stillness

like it’s a gift from god

and not the art of living in perfect sync with yourself

 

 But I’ve spent half my life watching the blue heron

and thinking my survival is a stroke of luck for it

 

No

It’s not

It’s a choice

 

And watching the blue heron has taught me one thing

So now I’d spread my arms like I could join her in flight

and I’d tell her

 

Thank you for teaching me I saved myself

Recent Posts

See All

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page