top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

The Seven Deadly Sins

“Wrath” Forgiving isn’t my job I don’t care about peace I want justice I want pain felt by those who cause it I want their spines crushed Their bones to turn to dust beneath my heel Regret won’t be just a word It will be an experience And forgiveness will hang by its neck in the yard alongside their bodies swaying in the wind *

“Greed” I want I want to feel electric 60% of me shocking the world Scorching the ground where I walk I want passion Furious, hungry, all-consuming passion to swallow me whole In an insipid world overwhelmed by the mundane I want *

“Envy” I have everything some people dream of But there’s more in the world Other people have more love, money, fame, happiness And I want it for myself so badly my desire smolders in my heart I am choking on desire strangling on my own jealousy burning inside my skin dying to crawl out of it and into someone else’s life I want what they have what I don’t what I can’t I have everything and it is not enough *

“Sloth” You think I don’t want to do it I do But I can’t My limbs are stone My brain is a statue frozen infecting my lungs my heart my spine I want to move but I can’t I can barely breathe I know you don’t see it But I can’t do anything *

“Gluttony” On the nights when the pain is drowning me (every night) I’d rather drown in a bottle I love the way it leaves me numb I love the way the lights spin the way my mind does (out of control) I love the way I forget my own name and yours The warmth like poison in my blood better than the razor blades that used to spill it I get another drink to get happier I get another drink and it’s never enough and one too many *

“Pride” I can do this on my own You can’t force me to admit I can’t You would have to drag the words from my decaying lungs my severed tongue before I’d ever say them willingly  I would rather dig my own shallow grave and bury myself alive than admit I need you I don’t I can do this on my own Even when I can’t *

“Lust” Every smile was an invitation every laugh a plea “Take me home I can’t be alone tonight” I was water and his body against mine an oil slick But I didn’t care At least he was next to me And my halved heart was whole for a night I wonder what his name was *

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page