top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

The Face of God

Sometimes I pray to God like if I don’t I’m going to die. My lungs will cease to breathe, my heart will fail to beat, my skeleton will collapse. I pray to God like he’s my lifeline. But sometimes I don’t believe in God. Sometimes I don’t believe in anything. Sometimes I’m absolutely convinced that no God is out there because, after all, deities are made of mist and hope, fear and smoke and mirrors. God exists in a book of fairy tales and windows that have more life in them than some of God’s children. I don’t believe in God, some days, because then I’d have to believe he’s a monster. I spent 15 years on my knees begging forgiveness for crimes I didn’t understand. Begging him to absolve me of being a person. I was 15 when I was taught about the Jewish who spent years in prisons wondering why no God had ever come. Wondering what they had done to deserve to be tortured and starved and hated and murdered in cold blood. No God ever came for them. No God has ever come for anyone. There has been massacre after massacre after massacre in his name and he’s still anywhere but here. Perhaps he could not hear their prayers. But surely he must have heard their screams. Maybe instead he was listening to the man ordering the slaughter, and requesting God’s help. Where is this so-called omniscient omnipotent being, our holy moral authority? What does it say about him that he sits idly by in the face of inhuman cruelty? I suppose it doesn’t matter, because all that matters is that He’s never shown up. Not when it counts. He doesn’t ease suffering. Man, I was taught, was created in his image. I shudder to think of the face of a God that was the inspiration for a mass murderer. The face of a rapist. The face of a pedophile. Sometimes all three at once. Sometimes I don’t believe in God even when I really really want to, because if I do then that means I have to believe God isn’t as kind as I think he is. He’s not as loving. Or he’s not as powerful as we think. Because he can’t be both, can he? He cannot be good and kind and forgiving and still know all, still know the way every single life will unfold and eventually end. He cannot know everything and still love us. He cannot love us all and know that one of us will singlehandedly destroy another several million. The cost for believing otherwise is too high. The cost is the lives of our brothers and sisters and the grief of their mothers and the tears of their fathers. What does it say about God that man has such a capacity to inflict pain and enjoy it? And believe it is warranted? I suppose it doesn’t matter. It only matters that we do. I have no faith in any all-powerful, all-loving God. Maybe that means I’m wicked. Maybe it doesn’t matter. Because I am his daughter. I was created in his image.

I wear his face.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page