top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

Ships in the Night

My life has always been half looking down the barrel of the gun and waiting ​for the spark

and half staring through the eye of the noose waiting for a reason

(you are the reason not to)

My heart wants shelter in the stained glass quiet is willing to drop to its knees and beg forgiveness

My feet are already fleeing the hallowed marble halls and scorching the earth where I touch it

Because I try so hard to be good but I’m still a sinner  and I don’t know if I’ll ever make it out in time

(I don’t have to beg with you you already put out the flames)

My life has always been me ready to fling myself off a cliff just  to prove I can and run across the country on a dare and just because someone told me “Never stop running”

But my feet won’t move I never jump; I always fall and the running is only ever so far that it makes me want to look back and see what I’m missing 

My shipwrecked soul is certain I should go My heart is a broken lighthouse begging me to stay 

(you are the ship in the night reminding me I’m not alone)

My hands are ice but my heart is warm, I promise

I can’t help who I am I can’t help who I want to be

I have always been in pieces

(I’m waiting to be put back together)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page