top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

Infinitesimal

I imagine my life in the eyes of a god

Fleeting

Small

Magic

I watch infinity unfold in the seas

and I see a god’s tears


And I stare at the sky

feel the raindrops pelt my skin

feel the thunder split the heavens

and I feel a god’s wrath

Magic

is a shackle


An ant crawls over my palm

and I want to crush it

Instead

my tears form a miniature ocean

and the ant drowns


My rage and my peace

circle each other

endlessly


The ant flounders

tries to swim

and I drop him to the earth

He spasms

goes still


Eternity spans in a split second

And I move on


I feel myself

in the palm of a god

I look up, searching space for his eyes


I wait for the crushing blow


Maybe a god only waits

to deliver death

until the people know he’s there

Maybe the ant didn’t care to die

until he felt how small he was


I hope we never stop looking

A god is only a god if someone is praying

And maybe

a god isn’t a god

unless someone is smaller


Maybe they’re not a god

at all

except to us


Maybe

Maybe

Maybe


God is a man

larger than life

holding us in his palm

thinking about us for only the second

before we die


We don’t worry about ants,

do we?

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page