top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

Blue Period

I send my writing to a boy who’s better at playing at being anyone else than he actually is at being himself. I’ve done it for years. I write something I’m proud of and I send it to him  because no one else understands  the power the courage it takes to put all of yourself out there quite like he does and no one else has ever understood my thoughts quite like he does. I sent him love stories. Snippets of memories I made with other people he’s never met, when I was fallen into their beds, a tangle of legs, sheets, and heartlines. I sent him suicide notes in the form of the internal monologue of a character designed after me. He read every goodbye I never had the courage to say out loud, to best friends and fathers and lovers. ​I sent him poem after poem  after poem of aching hearts  and rages against God. He told me,  “It’s like every period is a different shade of blue.” I told him he was right, I’m outdoing Picasso. “Amateur only had one blue period.” I’ve got the deepest blue, almost black, bleeding all over my pages for the grief I’ve carried since I was seven, for sisters lost  and a pain with depths as far reaching as the ocean. The sky poured its hue into my poems about heaven and a god who doesn’t deserve to be a god. Cobalt blue is the color my heart breaks in in every love story I write because it’s the color of a boy’s eyes. If you want to know why  every period is blue  I want you to know it’s because endings are prettier that way.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page