top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

Astral

I'm a wraith, floating through my life.

I look in mirrors and can’t believe what I’m seeing.

I haunt my own skin.


My thoughts are real,

I think, but if I have to wonder

are they really?


Maybe I’m made up.

Maybe I’m the most elaborate dream I’ve ever had.

I only exist to me.


I’m a ghost

pretending to be alive.

I only exist if someone sees me.


But I watch people look right through me,

like I've never been here at all.

I pinch myself and I'm certain, yes, I'm dreaming.


I reach out to touch someone else,

and it's an insurmountable gap,

human contact.


I am all alone.

If I am

at all.


“Do you ever doubt the existence of others around you?”

“No,

I usually doubt my own.”

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page