top of page
  • Writer's pictureHolly Wright

A Letter to Eighteen-Year-Old Me

I know you’ll live. Despite the agony of him leaving. Despite the cut of his words. I know those things made you feel like you were dying. I know when you were suspended in absolute mind-numbing  all-consuming anguish. The empty darkness where his silhouette should have been in your doorway. The silence that smothered (heartbreak sounds like a slamming door). I know how you bled beneath your own touch just to try and ground yourself again. I know that your skin lived under your nails for days before you found the will to scrub  your pain away. You were so broken. (Snapped clean in half, like a wishbone or a heart) No one would ever touch you again. You would keep yourself so safe. Every trauma after that. Every time you had the taste of guilt on your tongue instead of someone’s kiss, you told yourself you’d live.  After every sob torn from your throat like dreams snatched from a sleeping child you swore you’d live. There were many times you felt so overwhelmed by grief you were sure it would consume you. Would devour you whole. (Darkness leaves no survivors) I know you were numb in your own skin. I know you could only taste your tears, only see as far as the next second, only hear the dull thud of your heartbeat (the only proof you had) You survived. You always said you would. I know you’ll live.

But I want you to live happy. Live fiercely. Live boldly. Live so well that only the joy can ever overwhelm you.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

For the Great Blue Heron

I’ve heard it said the great blue heron is a sign of good luck As if she didn’t earn every moment of stillness through a lifetime of practice As if her entire existence is not a choice between an impa

TOSKA

noun; Russian; roughly translates to “sadness” "No single word in English renders all the shades of toska. At its deepest and most painful, it is a sensation of great spiritual anguish, often without

September 2022

I wrote three lines last night when I woke up choking on my terror again again again The way I wake up every night, mid scream and have for almost two weeks I wrote three lines You’d think there would

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page